MARRIAGE LICENSES & CERTIFICATES
Scott County maintains marriage records from 1856 to the present. Customers can request certified copies of marriage records for $9.00 each in person or by mail through Customer Service.
A marriage license must be applied for in person.
Applicants can apply for a marriage license in any county in Minnesota, as long as the marriage takes place in Minnesota.
Signatures of both applicants are required. A supplemental application will be required if one of the parties is not present. The supplemental application must be notarized.
You must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license or have approval from a judge to apply.
In order to complete the marriage license application, you will need the following information for both parties:
- Photo identification for both parties (driver’s license, passport, etc.)
- Full names
- Dates of birth
- State or foreign country where each person was born
- County where each person lives
- Social security numbers
- The full names that both applicants wish to take after marriage
- If previously married, the date (mm/dd/yy) the city and county where the last marriage was terminated.
- If marriage is terminated within 6 months of marriage application, a certified copy of the divorce decree must be viewed by staff when application is made.
- Felony information if convicted after 8/01/2000.
$115.00 is payable at the time of application. The couple can get a reduced rate of $40.00 if they present an Educator’s Statement. The Educator's Statement must be signed by the established educator, dated, and appear on the educator’s letterhead in order to be accepted. The educator's signature must be notarized or appear with the church's seal. A sample of the statement is available in Customer Service for your reference.
In the state of Minnesota there is a five-day (business day) waiting period after you apply for the license before the marriage may take place. Please allow at least a week before your wedding.
The license must be used within six months and may be used anywhere in Minnesota.
Marriage certificates are on file in Scott County only if the applicants applied for their marriage license in Scott County. If the application was made in another county, contact that county to obtain a marriage certificate.
If you need a certified copy of a marriage certificate, simply write a short note and include the following information (there is no application form needed):
- Full names of both applicants
- Applicant's name before marriage (if changed)
- Date of marriage
- Correct fees
- Your return address
The fee is $9.00 for each certified copy requested.
Make checks payable to Scott County. We currently do NOT accept credit or debit cards. Orders are not accepted over the internet or by phone.
For further information, please contact Scott County at 952-496-8150.
Send mail requests to: Scott County Government Center
200 Fourth Avenue West
Shakopee, MN 55379
Customers coming to the Scott County Government Center in person should go to the Customer Service Department.
Hours are Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
Thursdays extended hours are from 8:00AM - 6:30 PM.