COVID-19 Status Update - 3/26/2020 11:30AM
Governor Tim Walz issued a stay-at-home order for Minnesota effective Friday, March 27, at 11:59 PM through April 10. Only essential services will remain open.
No applications for tabs, title transfers, duplicate titles, disability certificates, recreational vehicles, et cetera will be accepted after 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 27, and we will do our best to process any items left in the Scott County drop box prior to the cutoff. Any items unable to be completed will be returned by mail.
We will continue to staff the office for critical items such as property tax payments and vital records requests (i.e., birth, death, and marriage certificates).
As our government buildings are closed to the public, we are unable to process driver’s and marriage license applications at this time.
If you have any questions about these or any other services Scott County provides, please feel free to call us at 952-496-8432. Staff are available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. to answer your calls.
Please note that all DVS offices will be closed including exam stations.
Dealers: The Governor’s order recognizes that motor vehicle repairs and limited sales are considered critical services and may continue during this period. According to the order, dealerships may conduct "sales that are necessary to allow for essential travel, when conducted by appointment, and only when CDC and MDH guidelines, including social distancing, can be met.”
Granting extensions for driver’s licenses, ID cards, and tabs requires a change to state law, and the Minnesota Legislature is scheduled to consider this topic. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS) will provide additional information and guidance if anything changes. We will post any updates on social media and to our website as they become available.
Thank you for your understanding during this unprecedented time.
Save time - pre-apply online for driver’s licenses and IDs
Use the online pre-application to enter a significant portion of your driver’s license, ID or REAL ID information before coming to the driver’s license office. You’ll save time and learn what required documents to bring with you. Pre-apply for your license or ID card now!
A standard driver’s license or ID is acceptable for domestic air travel until October 2020.
Please expect longer wait times due to the new driver’s license requirements. Because of these longer wait times, we may not be able to assist customers who arrive during the final hour of business. Customers will be informed when they arrive if a transaction cannot be completed that day.
If you are 18 and have held your instruction permit for at least six months you may immediately apply for your first time driver's license.
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Have successfully passed a road test
- Have completed behind-the-wheel instruction
- Have completed 30 hours of classroom instruction
- Had an instruction permit (step 1) for six months with no conviction for moving or alcohol/controlled-substance violations
- Have a supervised driving log with a signature from a parent or guardian certifying at least 40 hours (15 of which must have been at night) of supervised (with a person at least 21 years old) driving.
- Please see the Minnesota Drivers Manual for a complete listing
Apply in person
- Scott County Customer Service Center
- Elko New Market Customer Service Center
Remember to bring
- Your Social Security number if you have one
- If you're under 18, a parent or guardian (with ID) to also sign the application
- Proof of your completed classroom instruction
- Proof of enrollment in behind-the-wheel instruction
You can pay with cash, check (payable to Scott County) or credit card. If you pay with a credit card you will be paying a 2.45% convenience fee.
During the first six months
- Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
- Driving is prohibited from midnight until 5 a.m. unless the provisional driver is: accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years old
- Driving between home and work
- Driving between home and a school event for which the school does not provide transportation
- Driving for employment purposes
During the second six months
- No more than three passengers under the age of 20 are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.
- Note: Passengers under 20 who are members of the provisional driver’s immediate family are permitted during both time periods.